Posted in blogging, Personal Wellness, writing

#humility and #epilepsy

blind

Be humble or be humbled. That’s one way God seems to discipline us. Epilepsy releases me from ego, but not from anger. Those are two different things: ego and anger. I’ve seen them on display, and I am sure you have too. There is much talk about ego today in the cosmos. There is much talk about a lot of things, but releasing one’s ego is certainly on the agenda of many. I have an ego or whatever you want to call it. I’m not sure there’s a name for it, but that’s the best word humanity has come up with so far. Thanks Freud. Ego can be a good thing. It can create a response from men and women to jump to action. Anger can be a good and bad thing too. Emotives, emotional responses….we’re not perfect people. I am always surprised that we seem to not be able to accept that reality. I know there are realities in my life I haven’t accepted. I know this because we all have blindspots, and they are called blindspots for a reason. Until they are pointed out, we are blind to them. The picture above is not a commentary on the Muslim faith by the way. I clarify because a picture is worth a 1000 words, and I don’t want those 1000 words to be misunderstood.

Every time I visit my epileptologist, I pass this church for the blind. I have this odd sense of humor. I laugh silently to myself because I think do the blind need a sign for their church? Aren’t disabilities hilarious?! I can tell when you aren’t joking.

I must go back to that Muslim point just for a moment since we live in violent times. There was a get together in my neighborhood a while back. I met a family, a Muslim family, a beautiful family. I got talking with a gentleman, and after our discussion he said he would pray for me. How shocked was I? Pretty taken aback….I guess it’s just part of that small town mindset, my diminutive mindset. God doesn’t live in your church. Yahweh, Emmanuel, lives everywhere.

Glad I got that out of my system….

Leave a Reply

