Posted in Uncategorized

Scripture Union

One of the devotions I read daily, is from Scripture Union. The prayer from one of the devotions today is, “Lord, I turn again to You today. Let Your glory be seen in me, and let me recognize Your glory in others.”

I struggle with this in real life. People drive me crazy. I know I’m not alone in that sentiment. It doesn’t help that I take a medication called Keppra which effects me in a number of not so glorious ways, but it does help control my seizures so I have to learn to deal with it and so do those that intend to be around me. Trust me, I’m battling it, hardcore.

There is a community of people with epilepsy, and I’m a little scared of many of them to be honest. Some are spot on, and some really need to see an epileptologist. It’s a spectrum disorder, but people are very slowly beginning to rally around it. Most of it has to due with a young lady named Cassidy Megan. Then, President Obama and congress and a host of other people started the Presidential Brain Initiative. President Clinton’s Chief of Staff, David Axelrod, has experience with epilepsy. Hillary Clinton was a keynote speaker at a Cure Epilepsy Event. It’s gotten a lot of support from Hollywood in recent years, and Danny Glover of Lethal Weapon fame was one of the first people to speak up about it many years ago. The coach from Minnesota brought a lot of attention to epilepsy, and now with all the insight and discussion about concussions in the NFL. The fact that 1 in 10 people will have a seizure at some point in their life will become more worth of NIH review. I believe they are on it. Drugs, however, are not the only answer. They aren’t the only answer for a lot of things.

We need to talk about wellness. We need to talk about nutrition. We need to be aware that all these changes in the environment have personal and business and SPIRITUAL repercussions. We’ll never fix everything, only God can. However, there is an element of personal responsibility that may be taken. That is one thing I am working on. I am working on the quality of my nutritional intake. I am going a bit more extreme than most will need to because I take a ton of medication, but still. I just want to help some people, and in the process maybe I’ll help myself too. We may not be able to change the world, but we can impact our day by days. #love #changetheworld

Leave a Reply

