Posted in Uncategorized

Virtue Signaling

Honestly, I’ve grown weary of the woman power movement. I see more in WE than in me. These are the words of someone whose choices played a large role in a divorce. Don’t get me wrong, I love women. I love women that are virtuous and not-so-virtuous, but in the end it’s really not at ALL about us.

See, there's this thing called biology...

“Virtue signaling” for those who don’t know, is a political phrase coined to describe those who care, so, so much, they are virtuous. If you’ve ever been in a political debate and someone suddenly declares, “I’m a vegan, I don’t eat animals, do you eat animals?” That is called virtue signaling. It’s an idea that suggests I’m right because I’m a good person with high moral standards, while you are just politically incorrect and want to kill puppies.

In a faith-based context it is similar to works  before grace, that I am justified because of my own innate goodness and ability to care about all the right things. I am so, so good and I will prove it every day by dashing about and supporting all the right causes.

Women can be especially vulnerable to virtue signaling, in part due to our design. I like to say, we are more…

View original post 742 more words

Leave a Reply

