Posted in Uncategorized

Who cares?

When writing, it’s foolish to sit down and write when you are unsettled. I am definitely playing the role of the fool today. Someone who I do not know, know nothing about, pushed a button. I suspect he did it intentionally. People are not stupid, and people tend to like to hurt people especially if they are hurting themselves. So, what am I going to do? Am I showing grace by writing about it? Probably not. However, it’s a decent illustration of how men relate to each other. If you push my buttons, especially if i know you are doing it intentionally, you get few chances. God says to offer basically endless forgiveness. I am not built that way. It takes time to recover, but eventually we can communicate again. Jesus’ response to a question about forgiveness: “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times.” The pastor at my church talks endlessly about humility. I am so tired of hearing about humility. Yet, when I read Christ’s word I see why we need the reminder. The most dangerous words in my personal arsenal are, “I don’t care.” It was when I shut down emotionally that my marriage fell apart. It is when you stop reaching out to people that everything from anxiety to depression to whatever else builds inside you. Buddy, what the hell is wrong with you? Can you pinpoint a moment in time where or when everything turned inward. I can. For some, it may have been a slow, pressurized process. Actually, it’s probably both for me depending upon the topic. A friend’s son once said something to the effect that at some point you must be moved from a “receiver to a transmitter.” What are you going to transmit? Are you going to throw your arms up in the air and say who cares? Are you going to take a baby step and establish a peace in your heart/mind that you care? Are you going to move on that peace knowing that discomfort is ahead? Like Denzel said in Remember the Titans, “Who’s your daddy? I’m not gonna let you on this bus until you tell me who your daddy is.” Amen. Master of Puppets

Leave a Reply

